St. Lucie Criminal Defense Lawyer
St. Lucie County Criminal Attorney St. Lucie Criminal Defense Attorney Law Firm Profile Common Criminal Defense Questions Free Case Evaluation Contact Us






DUI
BUI
Drug Charges
Prescription Drug Crime
Doctor Shopping
White Collar Crimes
Violent Crimes
Assault
Sexual Offenses
Internet Crimes
Internet Sex Crimes
Theft Charges
Juvenile Crimes
Domestic Violence
Probation Violation
Misdemeanors
Felonies
St. Lucie Criminal Defense




St. Lucie Criminal Defense Attorney

Criminal Defense - Frequently Asked Questions

Why should I hire an attorney if I am under investigation for committing a crime?

If you or someone you love is under investigation for a crime it is extremely important to hire a St. Lucie criminal defense attorney to protect your legal rights immediately. An attorney will be well-educated with both state and federal laws, including the criminal court process. Failure to hire an attorney can severely hinder a case and result in maximum enforcement of penalties if convicted.

What are my legal rights when I am arrested?

Anytime a person is arrested for a crime they have many legal rights that must be protected. Under a person’s Miranda Rights they have the right to an attorney, a right to not speak without an attorney present and the right to be presumed innocent, unless they are found guilty in a court of law. If you or a loved one have been formally charged or arrested for a crime in St. Lucie, Florida, please contact David Golden, P.A. today.

I heard a misdemeanor is not that serious - do I still need a lawyer?

Yes. You definitely will need a lawyer is you are under investigation for the commission of a misdemeanor offense. If you are convicted of a misdemeanor you can be sentenced up to 1 year in jail, fines, restitution, probation and parole. Not to mention you would receive a permanent mark on your criminal record. Misdemeanor convictions also show up on background checks and can hinder a person’s chance to be hired for certain jobs or positions.

What is the Florida “Three Strikes Law”?

The Florida “Three Strikes Law” states that anyone committing a violent felony offense can receive a “strike” on their criminal record. A second strike can result in enhanced penalties and once a third srike is received, a person face a lifetime behind bars.

How long do I have to register as a sex offender?

Once a person is convicted of certain misdemeanor or a felony sexual offenses they will be required under Megan’s Law to register as a sex offender in the National Sex Offender Registry for life. There are no exceptions. If you are being accused of a sex crime you must hire an attorney in order to protect your future.

What is a DHSMV Hearing?

A DHSMV (Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles) Hearing must be scheduled within 10 days following a DUI (driving under the influence) arrest. It is a chance for a person to avoid having their driving privileges suspended.

Please contact David Golden, P.A. immediately is you or a loved one are under investigation for a criminal offense in St. Lucie, Florida. We offer all potential clients a free case consultation and look forward to discussing you or a loved one’s case in greater detail with you.

Arrested for a crime in St. Lucie, Florida? Contact us today!

David Golden, P.A. - Port St. Lucie Criminal Defense Attorney
Located at 903 SE Central Parkway, Stuart, FL 34994.

Local: (772) 220-4400.
Website: .